Fridja Clothes Steamer – Worth the splurge?

by Aly Hazlewood on May 28, 2014

Fridja

Ironing is one of those jobs that I really feel life is too short for. I absolutely hate it and often turn up to work a little more creased than is perhaps polite. Fortunately, there is usually a professional clothes steamer at work, so it only takes a minute to get myself looking respectable again.

I’ve been thinking about buying a clothes steamer for my home, but like many people who live in London, my flat is not exactly palatial, so storage space is an issue. However, as good fortune would have it, my friend had a spare Fridja Steamer to give away so I happily accepted it as they are really quite compact and bijou compared to the bulky industrial steamers you normally find in a studio.

The Fridja steamer heats up incredibly quickly, steam was bursting out of the nozzles in no time, so I hung up a cotton dress with pleats on the built-in hangar and started steaming. However, I quickly discovered that the flow of steam is very easily disrupted unless the hose is kept absolutely straight and kink-free, which I found virtually impossible to do. In fact at the very base of the steamer the hose appears to be just a bit too bendy, and I’m not sure whether this is because the steamer is a year or so old, or whether it’s a design flaw. I did a bit of research on Google and found several other reviews from people who’ve purchased a Fridja steamer complaining of exactly the same issue, so my problem appears not to be a one-off unfortunately. And at £99.99, it’s an expensive problem.

Due to this little mechanical glitch, it took about 20 minutes to steam one dress, at which point I gave up on the large pile of creased washing altogether and reverted back to my usual scruffy countenance.

It’s worth mentioning that Fridja have launched a new version of their steamer which retails at £139.99, so it would be interesting to see whether they’ve fixed this over-bendy hose. If you’ve got one, let me know what you think.

Update: I received a lovely email from Fridja after seeing this review and they very kindly offered to take a look at my steamer and offered to give me a demo on how to get the best out of the product. So when I get an opportunity, I’m going to pop over to their office to do exactly that. I’m VERY impressed by their customer service as a result. If only all product manufacturers were so invested in good customer service.

 

Share:
  • Print
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • MySpace
  • PDF

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

Jess July 18, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Hi Aly
I’ve got the newest version of this steamer and I love it. No problems with the hose, it’s brilliant and saves so much time steaming jackets and fiddly details like pockets.
Perhaps the one you were given is damaged?
Anyway, love my Fridja!
Jess

Jacqui July 18, 2013 at 8:58 pm

I discovered Fridja steamers about 9 months ago when a stylist on our shoot pulled one out… The name got me 1st Coco… A steamer called Coco, same as my daughter!!! Hee hee.. I just had to have one… I have to say I don’t have the tube problem thankfully but what I do have are clothes steamed really quickly… I like you loathe ironing.. If you think adult clothes are annoying you should try ironing tiny little toddler dresses.. For me the Fridja Steeamer saved my life! & yes I agree customer service is beyond and above… Mr Fridja gave me a rather generous discount seeing as we had some common ground on the name dept!

10/10 from me..

philippa June 12, 2014 at 5:35 pm

I was initially happy with my Fridja, but totally agree with the above writer’s views on the over-bendy hose. During some redecorating, the valve cap was misplaced, and i need to order a replacement. I tried everywhere to find a contact telephone number, (it is not listed anywhere on their website) and eventually found 020 8986 7275. I rang this – it rang and rang and eventually a voice apologised that there was no-one there, and would i please email them. In normal circumstances this would not be a problem, but i am currently without either internet access or a mobile connection. So i have had to make repeated visits to a friend to a) find out the number and b) send an email. I asked them to telephone me, and so far i have heard nothing. It is a shame they are totally excluding anyone who does not use the internet.

Barry September 3, 2014 at 4:10 pm

A word of warning – I purchased a Fridja steamer about a year and a half ago and was initially very pleased as it meant I was not having to rollout the ironing board. However, recently, after light use over the year, it starting tripping the circuit breaker each time I turned it on. After finally getting in contact with Fridja, they have no idea what is causing the problem and as it is now out of warranty it is now unusable. I have seen another review on Amazon saying that theirs has packed up out of warranty, so they purchased another and then the same thing happened again. Fridja wasn’t able to offer any assistance.

Madison Bendell August 16, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Was thinking of purchasing a refurbished one but from what has been said that may be not such a good idea !!
Their contact points are :
82 Lower Clapton Road London E5 0RN
0208 396 6162
info@fridja.com

Brian M Turner October 14, 2016 at 4:42 pm

I love especially how you covered your clothes benefit of using a clothes steamer. Also the pro-tip at the end is awesome

best clothes steamer March 29, 2017 at 11:18 am

I love especially how you covered your clothes benefit of using a clothes steamer. Also the pro-tip at the end is awesome

Barbara April 12, 2017 at 11:18 am

Mine too is tripping the circuit breaker and I haven’t used it that often! It is an older model and so out of warranty but a waste of money considering how many times I have actually used it!

Customer service didn’t answer the phone and on fourth attempt someone picked up and suggested I take it to an electrical repair shop!

Not impressed at all.

Jess Potter June 2, 2017 at 4:50 pm

how sturdy is the telescopic pole? I had a Rowenta Full Size Master Valet Garment Steamer and the pole was not that sturdy. It wobbled when I had hung a Jacket. And can you tell me how many minutes of continuous steam does Fridja Steamer actually deliver?

Jose June 26, 2017 at 10:51 am

The above article was easy to read and helpful those who have searching for best garment steamers. For more visit steamerspecialists.c/

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: